books · fandoms

Books that changed me

“I believe that every book you read changes you; changes how you think, what you say, how you act, or how you look at the world. If a book doesn’t change something about you then it has failed at being a book”                 -unknown, pintrest

I found this quote on pintrest and it really got me thinking, ‘has a book changed me?’ and the more that I think about it, the more that I realise that they have. I can now think of quite a few books that have changed the way that I act, the way that I handle situations, and the way that I see things. And I agree, that is what a book should do. Use words to influence and shape people into better human beings, which means that a lot of my favourite authors can take credit for the way that I have turned  out. So anyway, I thought I would mention just a few books that I think have change me the most.

Number one is Divergent by Veronica Roth. This is the first book that popped into my head when I read this quote and I think it is the book that inspires me the most in my everday life. Here’s the truth. I am not a very confident person, I never have been. I’ve always been a shy girl who felt awkward talking to new people, was scared to order food at resteraunts, was afraid to put my hand up in class, and so on. But after I read Divergent I found it changing the way I do things. When reading the Divergent books I was absolutely in love with the Dauntless. I thought they were incredible! They are so brave, fearless and they always stand up for what they believe in and what they think is right. Even Eric Coulter, although he chose the wrong side, was brave enough to face death for what he thought was right. So now, in everyday situations when I get scared to do something I think to myself ‘Dont be a pansycake. Be dauntless’ and that(as stupid as it may sound) is what inspires me to do things that I normally don’t have the courage to do. I mean just the other day, I was at a sleepover with my friends and we decided to go down the stairs on a mattress! I wimped out at first but then I reminded my self that the dauntless would do it, and I slid down head first. I may have bumpd my head on the wall and bruised my shoulder but it was totally worth it.

Number two is Harry Potter by JK Rowling. In this book, it was more the characters that changed me rather than the story line. One of the main characters that changed me was the brilliant Hermione Granger. Hermione Granger loves books, I love books, but I wasn’t always so open about loving books. See, a lot of people in my school think that books are lame and that hanging in the library is for loosers, so I didn’t admit to people that I actually enjoyed it when the teachers made us do silent reading. But reading the Harry Potter books, and seeing how much Hermione loved books and love going to the library made me feel proud that I loved books instead of being ashamed. Now, I talk about books all the time, I carry a book with me everywhere that I go and I am a pupil Librarian with my best friend so I am always in the school library. So thank you Hermione Granger.

Leave a Reply

